A battle never fought

A thousand miles may put us apart
But together we stand in each others heart
To a friend who’s lost her family in a battle never fought
I dedicate poem with much love and thought.

Every breeze, every wind whisperes your name
Of the times we’ve lost, times that’ll never be the same
There were a lot of things we couldn’t change…
A lot of things I couldn’t give in exchange.

Friendship was what mattered the most to us
We fought, we won, we gave, we lost…
But did it really matter to you? To me?
No, it was our friendship that mattered, you see?

We loved those who loved us,
Fair with those who hated.
We turned back to see if we were being followed…
Now I’m looking back at that long, empty winding road.

We said we’d stick together till the end
Forever and always as two best friends
We tried, we cried, we fought a battle never won…
We held each other for dear life when we were asked to run.

With my finger I draw in the skies
Our laughter, our pain, our joys, our cries…
The stars twinkle down upon me…
Your face in the night sky, that’s what I see…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Salma Shaheel
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 06:32:26

    Its a beautiful piece of literature! The clarity of your writing paints a vivid picture of true friendship. I don’t know why but this poem evokes a strong feeling of nostalgia.
    Thumbs up for your effort.

    Reply

  2. C. MerC3R
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 16:17:31

    Hmm.. well its not bad, its quite heart warming in the least. You also mosty did a good job by getting the rhyming couples not sound too forced in the least.

    Did you try making this without the rhyme? It does flow well but some lines are heavy and long that they are kind of broken when the poem is read along as a whole.

    Messagewise I believe it is quite personalized, I find nothing wrong about that. In fact you made me feel for a friendship I never really had.

    Contiune writing. I’m not really up to taste with poetry and well my opinion is just.. opinion. – C

    Reply

    • littleshygirlmadehappy
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 16:23:15

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on it (I’m sorry if I forced you)… I will try my best to improve at what you pointed out. Thank you once again for being honest and for the encouragement! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. Devmini
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 05:18:44

    Ahh….its really a BEAUTIFUL piece of writing….Don’t know why.but this piece of poetry kept reminding me of u and Shazmina. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ …Its sweet …keep it up ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

