Behind The Battered Old Notice Board

This thing just happened in my head even though the people and places were very accurate. The floor where the year 7 classes are, and where the physics lab is… and where there WAS a battered old notice board with very old notices (now it’s all cleaned and holds fresh notices)... this might never happen in real life but in my head the story goes on…

She walked pass him with a smirk on her face. He looked at her with wide eyes and a gaping mouth. Soon he jammed his hands into his pockets and brought his lips back together to whistle a tune. His best friend punched him on the shoulder and said “Dude, get off of it! She’s never gonna like you.”
He shook off his friends off his shoulder and said “Go away!” and walked away himself.

That’s when he saw me watching him. He approached me: “What? Why are you looking?”
I looked down and said “I’m sorry for you”.
He smiled a painful smile, “That’s alright, I’m a loser”
I looked at him with  threatening eyes and said “Don’t say that! You are NOT a loser!”

He took a few steps away from me and I followed him. “Mind walking with me to the notice board?”
He loosened his bag, “Oh sure, I’d love to”
We walked side by side along the corridor until we were out of the hawk-eyed region of our classmates.

We entered the 7th grade floor just when he stopped in his tracks. “Oh crap! That’s Lean right? Oh no! He’s seen me walking with you!”
I smiled and continued to walk, he just followed without another word.

We peeped into classes and a lot of them waved or smiled at us. Finally we reached the battered old notice board which had only one notice, which was a year old. “Why did you want to come here? There’s nothing!” He said.
I faced him and said “Or so you think. Let’s hope there’s something interesting today. Watch this.”
I slowly took off a pin holding the old notice and found what I was looking for: a little white folded paper.

I gave the paper to him and asked him to read it aloud and he followed my order like a little lost puppy,
“Hey LSGMH! I did as you told! I followed my dreams and now it’s all fine. ‘D’ has nothing to peck me about now. I won’t change – never – you were right! For no one. I owe my entire life to you… BG”
He stared at me with an element of surprise in his eyes: “Wait! You’re not saying that YOU are the reason people talk about, are you? Oh – my – The secret LSH something! Wow! You’re incredible!”
I smiled for the umpteenth time and said, “ok, hush now! Let’s keep it a secret. Would you like to be the LSBMH? You know, some people ask me about math … and you know, I really don’t know what to say to them”

Still smiling, he pinned the notice back on, turned to me and said, “Great! You’re wonderful! I’d love to write to them about all the math and astrophysics I’ve been reading!… but before we proceed any further can you tell me what those letter LSH or whatever stand for?”
I told him, “We’ve got all the time in the world for that but since you asked, well, it stands for Little Shy Girl Made Happy. Henceforth, you’ll be the Little Shy Boy! You like it?”
“I love it!” he literally screamed, “12th girl and little shy kids – perfect! That’s why they never took down this notice board? The school doesn’t know who’s behind all this, do they?”
“No one does, besides you – ” I started but he interrupted,
“-and anyone who reads your blog – please, could you post what happened today on your blog? I’ve actually found something better to do instead of peeping at that girl between each class. Please, update your blog today!”
I smiled wider than ever before: “On your request. LSKMH FTW! Let the ‘K’ be for kids”

And then we walked back to where the rest of our class stood, outside the physics lab as if nothing  at all had happened.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sajith
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 11:20:13

    Amazing writing! I love it how I already know who you’re talking about! Very imaginative and extremely realistic description, it just brought the image of our school crashing back into my mind….even though I can’t say I like that! But it’s seriously amazing, and you should keep this up! Looking forward to your next!

    Reply

  2. Ziris
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 13:09:08

    This is awesome 🙂 totally know who and what this is about. i like your style of writing, really enjoyable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

