The crossing of Paths

Completely true story. A small accident which lead to a strong friendship – but I think our brothers ought to get some credit too.

You never know what’s going to happen when two different paths cross but we all believe in it. We know that things would turn out great, there’d be a happy ending… but would it really be like the fairytales we’ve read? Is there more to the story than what we see? This is what I found out… This person I’m speaking about is very different from me: she’s an athlete, an expert at French, she’s quite loud, daring, mischievous and unafraid. How I really met her is quite an interesting story. You might as well say that two different paths crossed.

Three years older than me, she was one of the most popular girls in school. That was her year before the last at school and many people looked up to her: she was a prefect, a house captain, the one who always topped in French, who knew perfectly knew how to capture an audience, and of course she had a very coulourful personality. The last thing I could’ve expected is to be friends with her. I had never spoken to her but thanks to some unhelpful events at school she knew who I was. The funny thing though, was that her brother and mine were close friends.

So one day my brother came home from his friend’s birthday party and he asked me if I knew this girl called Katy, who happened to be this guy’s sister. He had spoken to her and she seemed to know me. I was still not sure who he was speaking about but I made a mental note to find out. The next couple of weeks passed by without me actually finding out who she was but I thought it had to be the girl who always hung out with Jake’s sister.

And then one day at school someone told me that the prize list was up so I ran down to check if my name was on it. It was very crowded and since I’ve always been very short, I had to squeeze my way through. I accidentally tripped on someone’s shoe and lost my balance. The moment I got back on my feet I looked over my shoulder if they were alright. There stood the girl I presumed was Katy. We exchanged nervous glances and murmured “sorry” at the same time.

“Hey!” I’m Katy” Your brother came to our place last week and…” she started.

“I’m <my name>. Yeah, je asked me if I knew you – I wasn’t too sure if you were Katy.” I cut in.

And then we started speaking, forgetting completely the reason we were there in the first place. The pictures were running through my mind. It was a very movie-like scene – you bump into someone and it turns out it’s someone you’ve wanted to meet for so long. We spoke for no less than five minutes introducing ourselves and inquiring about one another’s brother.

A lot of my classmates were shocked to see me being so casual with her over the next few months. I’m usually the one who’d freak out if a four year old dares to ask me something. What was I doing being so close to a prefect, three years older than me? Our friendship grew with time. We would call each other, visit each other, surprise on birthdays, share secrets, act like detectives, share more secrets, and share even more secrets. A lot of people still awe at us… but they’ve all learnt one thing; when two different paths cross, it’s not always as bad as it looks.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sajith
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 19:36:07

    For the devil lurks at crossroads, but so do guardian angels, spreading their wings of love. Fate walks both ways, but it’s us who decides who walks along for this great long road us mortals like to call life. It’s well known to be filled with potholes and crags, but the right pair of helping hands have the power to convert quagmires to cotton candy, so it’s great when you know you can reach up to find solace pulling you into it’s warming embrace. Friendship is an absolutely marvelous thing indeed.

    Reply

  2. Sajith
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 04:16:36

    These were the thoughts that ran across my mind when I read this! You’re words were the inspiration!

    Reply

  3. Devmini
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 10:15:53

    truly amazing…! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

