When the stars speak

I’ve always been facinated by the night sky.

There’s a little window in my room that lets me look at the stars at night. I can spend forever speaking to them and sometimes I feel like they speak back to me. Today I felt that way. And I started to wonder about it… maybe, they really were speaking to me. Afterall, they are the ones that know me the best. The ones that’ve stood by me since childhood – since I first slept in my room, that’s when I was like 5 years old. They know me inside out. They know my worries, my joys, my tears and my smiles. There’s nothing they don’t know.
The stars have listened to me without a word of protest all these years. Sometimes they blink at me, and then I know they agree to what I say. They form constallations when I’m sad, never failing to make me smile. They always have a solution, a way which tells me this is right and not that.
So… maybe it’s time I let them speak. They’ve heard enough – it’s time for them to speak. I looked up once again at the cloudless night sky at the North star. It shined brighter today than ever before.
Suddenly, as if a knife had been thrusted into me things came flashing into my mind. I remember how once, 8 years ago my dad took me to the bridge of the ship when we were in the middle of the ocean. We looked at the stars together and he showed me how to map the constellations, how to follow the stars, and how the stars would listen to him every night. I asked him that day why they don’t come out in the day. He told me they would listen to a million people’s thought every night and think it over during the day so that they can connect people around the world the next night again. Now I’m big enough to understand why I don’t see the stars during the day but some lessons learnt as little kids remain with you forever. This was one of them: stars could connect people. Just like my dad said the North star can guide a ship – today the North star would guide me to my dreams.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sajith
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 12:10:56

    Wow this is absolutely wonderful! An entire prose of anecdotes that form an eerie form of poetry. Truly wonderful!

    Reply

  2. Nadi
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 10:53:32

    Wow! Mind-blown…:D

    Reply

  3. shazz
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 14:02:10

    awesomeness

    Reply

Leave a Reply

