Run.

I don’t even know why I wrote this…

If I could stop for a moment and wish for one miracle to happen I would want you to run away. Run away right now. I’d stay and put out the fire myself. Everything around us is burning – I’ve never understood  the word “wildfires” before but now I know. And the one thing I want to do is to save you. So run, run as fast as you can. Run before the fires catch you. Save yourself. I’ll fight them for a little more time and then I’ll go down with them. But you can’t. You shouldn’t wait – you’re the one carrying hope, the one who should live on. The time has come to part us and we have no choice. Duck your head before the soiled trees put your beautiful hair on fire. Run as fast as you can, before the fires burn you pink feet. Your eyes shine bright reflecting the oncoming fire – keep them blazing. Save your tears for tomorrow, don’t cry. I want to see your beautiful smile once more before you go, and when you do I want to live in that moment forever. As long as you smile, you can be sure I’m safe. Sweat pours down your face, look at me – I know you’ll be alright. Just run and never look back. Forget this one-sided conversation, take the happy memories only. Live for me, live for yourself – don’t ever look back. I promised myself to stand by you till death parts us but I’m breaking that promise now – so please accept my apology.  Your eyes fill with tears even though you don’t understand a single word I say. Run before the tears hit the ground. Before the tears of fire fuel the fire. Look at me now – yes, smile once more. Run.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sajith
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 16:25:15

    OMG, you just made me relive memories of The Hunger Games, and I thank you for that.

    Reply

    • littleshygirlmadehappy
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 16:28:29

      Great! Thank YOU! I just wrote what I think a rodent would have to say to her baby sister while everything around them is burning. Wildfires, you know. Save planet Earth kinda thing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

