The People Gone

It’s my grandfather’s birthday today. I miss him and the times we had together. Nothing will be the same without him.

I’m standing in the same place I’ve stood a million times before. Every time I’ve stood here it has brought me new pleasant surprises but this time it’s just coldness that spreads through. It reaches my heart, I feel empty. All I see around are fallen leaves. The Earth rotting on itself. All beauty has been taken away. The house which once stood warm and welcoming is now a dirty greenish grey in colour. The usual laughter that seeps through the doors and windows has been replaced by the uninhabited smell of air. The orchid flowers in the mango tree still blooms but not like it used to. The sour fruit I once used to eat just for the thrill of it are all over ripe and fruit flies buzz around ominously. The ever-present tube light hangs from one side and is flickering. It’s day time and the light is still switched on. The floor’s unswept, the breath is bad. The flowering plants which once received the best care in the world look at me with eyes that beg for some company. The people who loved this place as much as I do are no more. A few remnants are left – a cracked cemented floor which once my cousins and I had mistakenly broken while playing, a cut down tree with moss running down it’s bark. It’s the tree the three of us had cut, despite the age barriers. We worked at seven in the morning in our pyjamas that day. The two of us and our grandfather. The very day we cleaned the garden and gave it a new look. The axe we used with bruised finger lays on the ground. It was tiresome but it was so much fun. I pick up the axe – I remember how difficult I found it back then to lift it. It doesn’t seem to weigh much now. On the wooden handle, now blackened by the weather is a small, uneven carving. I look at it closely. The letters “OZZ – Dec 2003” have been written. I throw the axe down and run. I don’t want to think about it anymore. I can’t afford to lose any more energy on it. I run to forget the pain – to forget the loss. I miss them, the place, the joy, the life they gave me. I miss the people gone.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sajith
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 06:20:37

    This is wonderful! I loved it and I also felt immensely sad.

    Reply

  2. Nadi Salman
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 02:06:48

    πŸ˜₯ You make me cry!

    Reply

  3. shazz
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:04:43

    vry depressin 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

