House Captain

She stood in front of me with a purple and black checkered boyfriend shirt and black slacks. Her hair was drawn into a neat ponytail and she sported a pair of white shoes. Her eyes scanned the pavilion – the familiar faces, the little less familiar. She must have been missing the times she used to be there in school uniform watching her house win the house cup. I was among the many faces. She turned my way and I went five years back in time – a few weeks before the annual sports meet and my very first sports meet as a “secondary section” student. I was in year seven, she was in year 12 and house captain. She, along with the other house captain who happened to be a boy from year 13 came to my class during a period of “science” and took me to an empty playground. Another girl of my age was brought and we were asked to run. I remember her screaming out my name and saying “Come on! You can do it!” I learned later, after winning against the girl that she had missed the selections and had claimed to be  a better athlete than me. That must be true because if it hadn’t been for my house captain’s encouraging words I would have lost. Then we had the relay for the heats and I remember taking a massive lead to beat the other three teams. The next day at a  school assembly our house captain walked to me, bent low and said, “You did really great yesterday! Congratulations!” It had such an impact on me that I remember the exact words six years later. I was absolutely blown off my mind and I remember scribbling in my diary about it in my untidy handwriting. The next year I was in year eight and she was in year thirteen (obviously!) and I always looked up to her. We even spoke rarely, since her brother was a very good friend of mine and classmate. She used to be the best writer in the whole of our school and I’ve still got the articles I collected from our school newspaper named “Spectrum” and I was always mesmerized about how she managed to keep our house on first place year after year. Her jokes were full of life and always made me laugh, especially “You know you’re Sri Lankan when…” Makes me laugh even now. I realised I was dreaming when I caught her staring at me. She had gone to extremes to be a part of the house she had once captained, and is now captained by the genius, her brother. She wore colours to support the house and was so much more into the whole sports meet than anyone of us seated in the pavilion. I looked at her and felt embarrassed. Then I removed the house badge that was pinned onto my uniform. A purple dragon was protecting the letter “D” . I felt bad wearing it so I held it for her to take. As she asked “Is it alright?” the words in my head were, “No one deserves it more than you.”

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dakshaka
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 15:24:28

    ah you r A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! 😀 thats all i have to say!!!! Speechless………..this took my breath away!!! Well, i think i found my new best friend!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

    • littleshygirlmadehappy
      Mar 20, 2012 @ 17:03:05

      Aww Thank you! Let me correct you: “Well, i think i found ANOTHER best friend!!” Glad you liked it =)

      Reply

  2. therookieteacher
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 15:43:35

    Ohmigosh! :O
    For once in my life I really don’t know what to say. I remember all these things and I had no idea how much it meant to you…. I’m honoured nangi, thank you!
    All I can say is that I hope you can be this to your juniors and keep the spirit alive in school
    Much love
    xx

    Reply

  3. THunder a.k.a Amruth
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 16:25:03

    Nice.. goes a long way

    Reply

  4. yumiSalman
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 12:04:33

    Nice one :]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

