True and Forgotten

The title comes from one of my favorite comments on wordpress. Zeeshan on ‘Sometimes’: “—words that talk about what’s true and forgotten, good times and bad.-” The inspiration comes from a brief encounter with the person who inspires me to write these kinda stuff. 

How long did it take for you to figure out who I was? We stared at each other, too shocked to look away and too confused to pretend to be fine without the other. That’s what’s true and forgotten. When I saw you looking at me as if you had just seen something very out of place, I knew that I was bringing out threads of thoughts about me that were forgotten. The way you gaped at my sight told me that you haven’t forgotten me. That there was still a part of you that was old and ready to take on the world with only an encouraging smile from me. You tried to speak in words that never sounded right, you tried to remember every bit of what used to be. The few seconds were enough to leave me wondering for eternity… did you forget, or have you forgotten? Time might be the excuse in your case… even distance. But that moment proved distance wrong. You looked as confused as me… was it because you forgot the reason, the truth, or was it because you had no reason? The beautiful confusion that stood between you and me took only a few seconds to disappear. Speed, opposite directions. Didn’t someone say that for every time I walked away, you walked away the other way? This was it… This was exactly that. This is what’s true and this is what’s forgotten. The truth’s been forgotten, and having forgotten me was the truth that you didn’t like to face.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khaula naxir
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 15:21:08

    Beautifully written. Simply gorgeous.
    🙂
    By the way, who inspired you, precisely, to write this?

    Reply

    • khaula naxir
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 15:23:11

      I read it again….and I want to read it again and again and again.
      =P

      Reply

    • iwasneverheard
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 15:25:34

      Thank you! Thank you so much! The person who inspired this… it’s a long story. There was once this person who was incredibly close to me, we were like pieces of a puzzle. There was no me without her, or her without me… A twist of fate changed everything. After a cascade of events without reasons, here we are now, nothing but invisible ghosts lingering in the shadows of the past. And in case you’re wondering, yeah, I’m a sane person 🙂 Thanks for checking by blog!

      Reply

  2. khaula naxir
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 15:30:40

    Aahahhhahaha. No, I don’t doubt your mental status because my own self writes things like that.

    Reply

  3. alethea matthews
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 16:09:06

    Beautifully written. Excellent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

