How different are we, Really?

At arm’s length and I’m still reaching out. Out of breath, but I’m still breathing. Tear stained eyes but I’m still smiling. I’m looking around and I find you. You’re there… how different are we? You’re the legend, the strong one, the unbreakable one. I’m too scared, is your soul made of  steel and is it bulletproof? You definitely wouldn’t know what it feels like to be kicked around and pushed down. I smile just so that I’m not impolite but I soon turn and walk away before I get caught up in another plausible explanation of friendship. Before I can turn back and before I can change my mind, my walk turns into fast steps and then into a quick run. I can run but you can run faster. I feel a strong grip on my shoulder and I turn around suddenly and forcefully. You are here. You’re out of breath but you’re still breathing, you’re eyes are tear stained but you’re still smiling. You’re at arms length and I step back. You take a step back, mirroring my action. You speak first, you tell me you’re just as afraid I am. We’re at arm’s length and still reaching out. We stare at each other… how different are we, really?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alethea Matthews
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 16:33:16

    That was really nice. I loved it.
    🙂

    Reply

  2. Alethea Matthews
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 09:19:19

    I nominated you for Beautiful Blogger award:
    http://myimpregnablesoul.wordpress.com/awards/
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

