A special Birthday wish for a friend – and the photo of ‘Super 19’ I promissed to share

For her love of aeroplanes…

It was my friend’s birthday today and I couldn’t think of anything better than a home-made little aeroplane for her. She loves aeroplanes so much. It took me three days to complete it and all the way through I was dying to see her reaction to it. I told her I had something to show her but I never told what it was. So today was her birthday and this is what happened:

Last night I was texting two of my friends simultaneously. One of them was the birthday girl (N) herself, the other was our friend (A) who I knew I should team up with if we were to surprise her. They were both in the same bus returning home from an athletic meet but neither one of them knew I was texting the other so I decided to have a little fun with them.

message to me from  N: “Kill me if you can”
So I asked A to walk to N and say “Kill me if you can”
Apparently, N had got confused about how she was saying exactly what she had told me.

message to N from me: “Go to ‘A’ and ask her who she’s texting as if you suspect it’s her boyfriend.”N had done as I said and to this A had told the name of a guy in our class. The person she was actually texting was me, and the content was… of course, N’s Birthday surprise!

I went to bed at 10:30 pm like I always do and my plan was to wake up the moment my parents left my room and grab my phone just so that I can wish my friend a Happy Birthday at midnight. Unfortunately, I fell asleep even before my parents left my room. In the middle of the night I woke up, remembering that there was a birthday girl I had to wish. My eyes first went to the clock and I realised the time was 11:45 pm – that was fifteen minutes before midnight. I soon grabbed my phone and found that it wasn’t 11:45, but 12:45 instead. Now it seems like a faint dream but I remember slightly saying something like “How could I have?!” to myself. I quickly typed in a birthday wish, making many mistakes while doing so but correcting them afterwards and sent it to her. I fell asleep immediately.

In the morning today, before going to school, I called N just to make sure she was coming to school so that I wouldn’t have to take the ‘aeroplane’ to school in vain. My father helped me with the extras, my mother came as a genius with the name ‘Super 19’ and the colours. With it packed in a box I set off to school.

In the first period I caught a glimpse of A and N outside our psychology class and since then I was impatient to give her my surprise. After Biology, when I ran as fast as I could to class, on the way there were A, the guy she had claimed to have been texting instead of me, and a few other girls from my class were standing in a corner with a cake with them. I ran to them and helped them stick two candles into the surprise birthday cake that A, the other guy, and of course guy B had got for their dear friend N. I told them I’d go to class and make sure N doesn’t come out.

So, to class I went and gave her my surprise. As she opened the box she caught a small peek at the wing of the plane and her face instantly split into a broad smile as she said, “DID YOU MAKE AN AE-.” Before she finished her sentence she opened the box completely and took my little plane in her hand. She smiled and I could tell you she was happy. She said she really liked it and that made my day. I was so happy.

When she was almost done looking it, from outside the class came a box with nineteen candles lit up in the hands of A. N was surprised and said, “YOU- What did you-“. A simply ignored her comments and left the cake on her table. We all sang ‘Happy Birthday’ and let her blow off the candles (which she almost forgot in shock). We clapped her birthday away and shared the cake. And of course it was followed by a session of jamming icing onto each others’ face, which I gladly was not a part of.

I don’t know about her, but I sure did enjoy her birthday. It was a real pleasure being able to watch my friend smile on her birthday. It is always nice to watch a person’s smile when in surprise. Happy birthday to her, and to anyone else who’s sharing their birthday with a person as wonderful as her!

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alienentity
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 15:05:02

    This. Was. The best read ever !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

