You like people who speak, don’t you?

I was never heard… not in my sense, but in the literal sense. I know someone who can’t hear his own voice, who doesn’t know if I can hear him speak. He looks at me and I nod my head and smile at him so that he knows I got what he said. I can only imagine the pain he must feel when he knows that everything he says or hears is just nothing. Just nothing.

You like people who speak, don’t you? You like the way the corners of their lips twitch, the snide remarks they make to you. You like the sound of his voice, the way she snickers when she just cracked a joke. You like the shaky voice of the little boy standing in front of his classmates and the way he sounds when he tries to say something he isn’t entirely sure of. You like that other boy, don’t you? The way he listens to you speak, the way he stops by every single time he sees you just to say hello. He surely likes you too and you know it, but the way your cheeks blush when he waves at you from across the playground tells me that you still like to think he’s some stranger that you just met. Look at her… she seems deep in conversation with that boy next to him. They’re laughing and they seem to enjoy whatever it is that they are speaking of. I wonder what they’re speaking about. Those girls a little further away with sad faces and ice-creams in hand must be relating stories. That’s when it strikes me… will they ever hear my stories, will I ever? What does my voice sound like, how will I react if I was the one speaking on stage at that Math assembly at school. Would it be very different to have friends of my own, instead of watching others? Would there be people who would listen to me speak, would they laugh at my jokes and pat my shoulder if they knew what I had just gone through? Some of you people actually look like you care, but admit it… you like people who speak, don’t you?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amruth
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 17:37:35

    This one grabbed my attention xD

    Reply

  2. amesha
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 09:26:04

    a little curious here!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

