Memories and Me

I don’t think we need to say goodbye to something that’s so close to our hearts that it would keep playing itself over and over again in our minds. Memories have no goodbyes.

I looked around and all I could see were memories. Running away from that boy chasing her was me, hiding behind the wall to scare a friend was me, using the longer way to class to avoid the teachers’ eyes was me. I was everywhere visiting myself from the past and making me look at everything I got to be part of. I wanted to run and push them out and stand there instead, but I knew it just wouldn’t be the same. Time is inescapable and there’s just no way to turn it back even if we try to. We can only watch the memories play back to us and watch how we got through all of it. I stood breathing deep and trying my best to keep my eyes dry. They were shouting and cheering and laughing and teasing. They were us. They were all we once were. The arguments were what we once wanted to get over and the laughs were what we wanted to be forever. They are saying the same thing and soon they will again. I sat and stood and gazed at the slow motion film it created. I knew someone somewhere was watching me but I couldn’t afford to look away. One second and I could miss it all. This was the only time I got and I just wanted to stare at the beauty. Did someone else see us this way as well?

I finally decided that I had to step in and take a bit of it for myself.With the first step and took into the playground it flew back to me. I was part of them, at least I still was. There were people laughing at me and waving at me. I got into a small conversation with a me from the past. We spoke about everything around us and she accepted me. I was there and I will always be. I can outgrow the years, but I can never outgrow the memories. No one can kick them out and no one can get too old for them. There were tonnes of mes and that’s how these memories will always stay with me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ziris94
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 18:15:42

    I love how you have captured our memories. Ever since you’ve started this blog your words have caught me and kept me here 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

