The Fireworks Are Back

I see fireworks. They remind me of you.  I can almost feel you grasping my arm afraid of the fire crackers bursting at your feet…  as if I was any better than you. I can almost see us hiding behind a tree watching them go up in the sky. I can feel my arm around your shoulder, your cheeks blushed pink with excitement and your voice  in my ear whispering simple words of comfort. It was always confusing who was more afraid… was it you who always tried to make me feel better, or was it me patting your shoulder and saying that I’d always be there for you? You would always say later that I was the scared one and I never gave in: I said you were the scared one. But always when the time was for fireworks, we would hold onto each other. I can picture the way your eyes would light up reflecting the red, gold and green lights from the fireworks. “Beautiful” you would say to me and I’d look at you and smile. It was like our own little fairy tale. A happily-ever-after story. The fireworks are lighting up the sky again and I hear them crackle. They remind me of you. Your eyes, your cheeks, your fingers holding onto mine tightly. I look at you as you peek at me from behind your mother. Your face splits into that smile you’ve always had just for me. You must have had a boring time not getting to put on your best smile for so long. The moment our eyes meet, I see that very same spark and light in your eyes. The way you’d look at those fireworks… you wait for me to explode, explode with colours and sparks like I always did for you. You see the sparks and the beauty of the love in my eyes. They are only reflecting yours. You reach out for me… I look up into the sky. The fireworks are back… and so are you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ziris94
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 16:24:33

    I can hear them too! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dullari
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 10:03:17

    Heyy! This reminds me of two things: – Veronica – Anthology- Platonic/ Romantic & Katy perry – firework!

    Its beautiful! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Dakshaka
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 04:45:45

    Once again she releases an epic post!! 🙂 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

