You took the stars with you

Alicia Keys says it best when she sings “These eyes put up a fight but once again these tears always win”

Right now all I want is your smile. That smile that promises a future and takes away with it every worry that’s ever bothered me. I want your arms around me, your shoulder to rest my head on and your fingers to interlock mine with. Every time you looked at me my heart leapt and the way your eyes shined gave me reasons to keep hoping. I wanted and want still to keep you with me the same way little kids hold on to their favorite toys. Letting go of you felt like saying goodbye for the last time, just the way the goodnights hurt and the “see you soon”s killed me. I feel you arm around my shoulder as I walk the lonely roads at night alone and I feel your shoulders brush mine as I sit on the bench in the park with strangers next to me. There’s hardly anything about you that I don’t miss… the words you used to whispered in my ears, the little rhymes you’d write for me and the late night calls when sometimes you’d fall asleep mid way through. The love in your eyes and the way you’d pull me by my hand and run along the pavement. The sweet smell of you, so loving and so caring is just a remnant of the past that used to be me. Every now and then I forget how far we’ve come from then and find myself still lost in all your compliments and words. The night sky just stares back at me tonight. The stars that once shone for you and me have grown tired of my words for you… just like you did yourself.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zeeshan
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 18:21:16

    How could anyone tire of your word? This is so beautiful. My eyes *_*

    Reply

  2. iwasneverheard
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 18:33:28

    Oh wow I didn’t expect to hear that! Thank you so much! :’)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

