Chasing Shadows

If you look beneath the layer of a stubborn teenager, you might see that I’m writing about someone who’d go through anything just to know he’s alive. Someone who dances with shadows. After all, we know we’ll fall but we jump anyway.

“I DON’T CARE!” I screamed and ran away from the cold words that were made to penetrate my skin. I could hear the sound of my heart beating against my chest and my breathing increase in pace as I took every turn and every twist on the road. The wind blew into my face but it wasn’t refreshing. The hot sun blazed over my head and all I could see was a blur of a figure crossing my path. I had to reach it before the shadow disappeared, before the sound of the footsteps drowned my words. I gasped for air but kept my pace steady. My legs were buckling under the weight of the troubles I was getting myself into, and I tripped a few times. The rough road was agonizing me, giving me just as much pain as I would have known coming. Nothing was helping my situation because I was going out of reach, out of touch, out of my world. I kept running till I finally saw the shadow slow… I put in all of the energy I had left to reach out for it but the moment I stretched my hand, the shadow disappeared. I had seen it all coming but I wasn’t ready to accept it. I fell to the ground and sat there waiting for the lost energy to come back to me… I waited long enough to figure out it was never going to come back.
“I don’t care,” I said to myself and picked myself up for I had to look for another shadow to chase.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zeeshan
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 09:17:09

    I’ve had a dream that was quite similar to this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

