Things I won’t forget

I could go on and on and on and I know I’ll never forget them.

But I don’t think I’ll ever forget the way I felt when you pinned that badge on me or the way I felt when I heard your voice on the phone for the first time. I’ll never forget how your hair shined in the sun when you ran across the ground, a bleeding wrist and a batten in your hand. I don’t think I’ll allow myself to forget how my stomach churned everytime I saw you, or how I felt when you walked by my side. I’ll remember that tingling feeling on my skin from the time you tried to paint me black because you said I coloured your world too bright. Every day when it rains outside and I hide myself under a blanket, I’ll draw the symbol across my palm with my finger to remember the way I felt when you did so. I don’t want to forget the way I felt when I came home from school to find that envelope with my acceptance letter on my table. I don’t think I’ll ever forget that sinking feeling in my stomach when you said you were ashamed of me, or the time when your brother looked at me and said “secret”. I can’t forget that feeling of betrayal you gave me. I’ll never forget the day I found out. I don’t think I’ll ever forget how I felt when you said I was nosy. I don’t want to forget the way the snowflakes felt cold and light against my cheeks. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the way I felt when I heard you out of breath. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the way I felt when you returned the letter I wrote for you, or the only time I beat you, or the time you stood up for me. I’ll never forget the confidence you gave me in teaching me things you didn’t know yourself. I don’t think I want to forget them. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the way you made me question myself and you made them doubt my sanity, or the way I felt when I realised how much of myself I had forgotten. And I don’t think I’ll ever forget you, but if I do, remind me please of how your very thought was enough to drive me insane.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zeeshan
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 19:15:32

    Beautiful, Zulaiha. Beautiful.

    Reply

  2. iwasneverheard
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 04:46:55

    Thanks Zeeshan 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

