I remember how it felt like to see you smile… I remember how bold I felt defending you in front of people I’ve been terrified of. I remember how having you near gave me the strength I never had. I remember how I stood in the pouring rain so you could stay dry. I remember the feeling you gave me every time you walked besides me… I remember being so proud of you. I remember being your only. I remember nothing else. I remember how holding you close felt like wearing a shield. Somewhere on the way, I dropped the shield, allowed myself to be attacked. Watched myself bleed to death, listened to voices that never existed before, saw things in the mirror I never expected to see. Anyone could hurt me, but the last person I thought could hurt me was the soul that I protected.

Leave a Reply

