You stood in front of me, giving me a shadow to hide behind. You said every bullet had to go past you to reach me and I tried hard to jump ahead of you and take the bullet first but you had built a shield so carefully around me that you said if I was being kicked out of my mind, you’d kick yourself out as well. You stood for me when I had trouble standing up for myself and you loved me when I couldn’t love myself. You didn’t try to mold me or fix my insides, you just promised to be there even when the storm passes by and leaves me broken. And you kept your promise. You stood there and watched me as I grew up and became all the things I am today. I’m writing to thank you for being there for me, for believing in me, for trusting me before you could even hear me out. Thank you for loving me above everything else you’ve ever loved.

Leave a Reply

