Reflection

The space between your fingers and mine speaks volumes. Almost as loud as the first time you whispered my name after rolling it in your tongue several times, the sound I fell for faster than you could catch me. We stand so close; so close that I could watch all the thoughts you’re thinking… but our eyes look away. Those fleeting moments when I do catch your eyes, they’re unfocussed. I wonder where your mind has been wandering… into the open palm of a girl who has heard your words but never touched them, or into the bitter sweet lies you’ve made another fall for? My eyes water but I don’t let you see the tears you’d never wipe away so I’m all sunshine and rainbows for the boy who asks me to say cheese. I don’t like cheese but this is no time for arguments so I do as I’m told. It’s the easy way out and but I am not looking for my way out because the longer I bury my pains, the longer I get to watch your mind play with mine. But I can’t stand it much longer… I throw up my words like a heavy drinker too drunk for the night and in the bowl of reflection, I feel my throat burning from all the misery that fills my breath and the pain I couldn’t digest myself stains my dress with blotches of tears too salty for the rain to wash away. In this mirror that I look into, I meet the eyes that stare into mine and grab the words out of me, before they can reflect them back to me, before they fall to the ground like forgotten promises. I look in the mirror and I think I’ve found the eyes that care, the mind that wanders to think of the sound of my heart beating, the hand that takes the space between your fingers and mine, and the words that seep through the cracks to find the broken pieces and put them back to place.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zeeshan
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 10:34:04

    Drink your words responsibly, Zulaiha 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

