The Girl Made of Glass

To the girl made of glass,

I met you when we both had things to talk about; things that neither one of us could find reasons to or explain but in all that we could do, you and I put the words out hoping we’d find meaning there. We didn’t, did we? But we found each other even though all I knew of you was that you were made of glass and all you knew of me was that I was never heard. But your world made perfect sense to me, and somehow mine seemed to make sense to you even through the unheard words and the silent tears. You made nine months worthy of the ride and I met you somewhere across the road. You said it didn’t matter what your name was or where you’ve come from, and I honestly couldn’t care less. To me, you were more than a name or a place, you were the glass that stayed put. The glass with spider web cracks that still hung by its corners. You were a means for me to escape. And you will always be so. Your journey wasn’t all that colorful but you held my hand as we strayed away from the black hole together and you saw the color in all my monochrome words. I reached out to touch you, but all I touched was a thin sheet of glass, cold and rid of heat. I burnt a fire by your side but realized soon that the heat of your heart put my fire to shame. Somehow you were still the most beautiful piece of art that could be touched.

I didn’t stumble upon your words upon boredom, I fell straight into the words you whispered to my heart. And you embraced me, shielding me from bullets when you were made of glass so thin yourself. You listened, and when I didn’t know what I meant anymore, you reminded me of just who I was. I found you crying to yourself wondering if you’d be able to recognize yourself if you tore away everything you’ve come to be, but you said you’d recognize me. You were as lost as I was, but you gave me something to hold on to. You gave me a message, a note, a will to go on.

Just the way we met in an empty space, you left one evening. No goodbye, no reason, no explanation. Just like all the things you spoke about that had no ending or beginning to make sense of, you left me hanging mid air. You left behind a reminder that spelt the words “Remember me”. You promised to be more than just a name, more than just a first name or a last. You said you were all the cracks on your glass, and that you were imperfect. You refused to be told who you were… I didn’t take those words to be the last I’d hear of you, but I can’t think of anything better you could have said. Your words always made sense to me, and even though you were made of glass and so was I, your words reached past all of them to touch me. To find a place where they fit and made perfect sense.

Your words, still the only thing of yours I have. Your heart, still the thing I know of you… I hope your journey didn’t stop where your words did. I hope it took you to all the beautiful places you wanted to be. I hope in the silence, when you’re lost and looking out, you find me within all your dreams begging to be heard as you pick up all the broken pieces of glass you’re made of. I hope you saw your reflection somewhere on the way, because you never seemed to see how beautiful even broken glass could be. And if you don’t find these words, it’s alright… because yours still live in me and if no one still hears me, it’s alright. I’ve been seeing them see you in the vases too beautiful to house the flowers, and in the bottles of hope and poetry that drown nights of solitude altogether.

I hope you found something that doesn’t break so easily when you left behind the pieces of your broken soul to complete all of ours.

Yours sincerely,
The girl who’s name you never learnt.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zeeshan
    May 23, 2015 @ 16:08:48

    Wow, this is so intriguing! Curious to know who this person is! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

